Road Trips and Much Ado About Something

It’s time for my first blog post on the new blog folks…get excited! You might or might not be wondering why I’ve decided to do my first blog post on a movie adaptation of a play since this blog appears to be mostly dedicated to words and bookish things. First let me clear things up. First off Shakespeare is about as bookish as it gets, and this blog isn’t just about books. It’s about stories and all the forms they come in, so get ready because if there is one thing I know it’s that words are the most powerful things there are…and here we go!

“Let me be that I am and seek not to alter me.”
― William ShakespeareMuch Ado About Nothing

If you are anything like me you have been waiting for Joss Whedon’s new version of Much Ado About Nothing for what seems like years. I’ve been obsessed with everything Joss touches since that first taste of Buffy. When I found out that it was getting a nationwide release I was overjoyed. Little did I know that there was not a single theatre in Alabama that would be showing it…thus I devised a mission. Me and my best friend would travel to Nashville, the closest city that was showing Much Ado, and we would finally get a chance to see Much Ado on the big screen.

Me and my friend waiting to see Much Ado

Me and my friend waiting to see Much Ado

I hope you won’t judge me to harshly when I tell you that my desire to see Much Ado has nothing to do with a love of Shakespeare. My friends and family love to give me crap about my lack of love for Shakespeare. As I always point out when the subject comes up, it’s not that I don’t appreciate what Shakespeare contributed to society, it’s just that there are SO many books I want to read, and just because Shakespeare wrote it doesn’t automatically make it the best thing ever. I will admit that the man does have a way with words, and his sonnets and plays are captivating once you understand what they are saying, but I digress.

Joss Whedon's Much Ado About Nothing

Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing

Ultimately I loved Joss’s version of Much Ado with Shakespeare’s words in a modern setting. It gave a new context and wealth to the story, but most of all I loved the actors. It was like a great big meeting of all the characters in the Whedonverse, but that moment when Benedict and Beatrice kiss all I could think of was, “FINALLY! Wesley and Fred get a happy ending!” Other than that the movie itself was beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a black and white film so much as this one. While sitting in the theatre and watching I couldn’t help but be impressed with the knowledge that this was shot in 12 days.

I know it might be hard, but if you can you should find a way to go see this brilliant movie! Make a road trip out of it like me, and convince all your friends that you are only young once.

“For which of my bad parts didst thou first fall in love with me?”
― William ShakespeareMuch Ado About Nothing

Leave a Reply

