Living in a Dystopian World

So I know that I promised a post and this is way overdue. All I can say is that I went to the beach got really sunburned, but I’m here now, and I ready to make up for lost time. I hope to make up for it in the future.

Back to why I’m here. I went white water rafting, and it was amazing. It was a ton of fun. I have to tell you I love swimming, and I am a very strong swimmer. I was not worried about anything happening to me if I fell out of the boat. Lately a big craze has been all these books and stories that take place in a dystopian society.

“Dystopia is defined as a society characterized by a focus on mass poverty, squalor, suffering, or oppression. Most authors of dystopian fiction explore at least one reason why things are that way, often as an analogy for similar issues in the real world. Dystopias usually extrapolate elements of contemporary society and are read by many as political warnings.”

This experience was awakening. It just made it very clear to me that I have a long way to go before I’m ready to live in a dystopian society. I fell out of the boat and got pulled back in before I even knew what was happening, I seriously need to work on my survival skills.

I think this is one of the many reasons that we like these kinds of stories. I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t want to read about a life that is similar to mine. I want to go on adventures, and defeat villains. I love reading books that force characters into intense, ridiculous situations where they have to rise to the challenge. The books and stories I love often force characters to rise to the potential they are trying to avoid, so they can become the heroes of their stories.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what I would do if I lived in these incredible circumstances. Whether I could survive a revolution or apocalypse. Between watching Falling Skies and reading books set in worlds that can kill you in an instant: The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Delirium, I have learned that more than anything I like my challenges in fictional form.

Like most people I tend to place myself in the story I am reading, whether I become the hero or just a member of the gang, I often think about the decisions I would make if I was in the characters positions. I do things my favorite characters do because my favorite characters do them. Sometimes I read their favorite books, but recently I’ve been obsessed with learning archery. I recently accomplished this and I am proud to say that I was pretty good.

If you’ve ever done something because a character you love did comment below and share your experience.

I’ll try to post more frequently from now on!

Got this from Tumblr, and it blew my mind

Got this from Tumblr, and it blew my mind

Leave a Reply

