Fangirling for Fangirl

When I set out to start this blog I told myself that it wasn’t going to be book review after book review. I think I’ve kept that promise, but today I’m breaking it with a review about Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell’s newest book. I promise no spoilers.

Tumblr recently launched a book club, bringing tumblr users from all over the globe together to read. They decided to kick off with Fangirl as the first book. I started following the Reblog Book Club (http://reblogbookclub.tumblr.com/) because I’m always looking for recommendations, and I sure got one.

One of the many posts from Tumblr's new book club

One of the many posts from Tumblr’s new book club

I started seeing a lot of posts with people painting their fingernails or dressing in fangirl colors. Eventually I downloaded the sample from Amazon, and once my sample ended I was hooked.

It’s a book about a girl starting college who is having a hard time adjusting, and is still holding on to her teenage obsession, a book series eerily similar to Harry Potter.  There are a lot of things I enjoyed about this story: the characters, the feelings of social ineptitude, and the difficulty of starting college. But more than that it was the main character, Cath, very obsessive behavior when it came to her favorite story: The Simon Snow series.

I loved the excerpts from Simon Snow books or fan fiction entries in between the chapters, and it made the whole world real and unique. But the thing I loved most about this book was the feeling that I understood Cath. I knew what it was like to go to college and feel overwhelmed. I knew what it was like to pick English as a major simply because you loved to read and write and the idea of having a job that allowed me to do that was marvelous. Most of all, I knew what it was like to immerse myself in fictional worlds to get away from my life, and experience things I’d never even dreamed of seeing. My obsessions were never as overwhelming as Cath’s; I tended to move from book to book and TV show to TV show.

It makes more sense to me to immerse yourself in a world where you can control the outcome, after all that is a reason I read. I have often felt like I could write a better ending than an author, but I have also never tried. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve wanted to do this after reading a book.

“Me: *snatches characters away from author*
Author: I-
Me: *wraps them up in warm blankets*
Author: what-
Me: *places them out of authors reach*
Author: But-
Me: you can have these back when you learn to play nicely” via (http://otpswillruinyourlife.tumblr.com/)

Aside from this book Rainbow Rowell has written other books which have been well received and I have added them to my to-read pile. Before she became a novelist she was a journalist, and her website has some of her old articles. I read some amazing ones last night. Learn to read, kid, but don’t fall in love and Books that still have covers should expect to be judged by them. You should definitely check out her website: rainbowrowell.com

This book was amazing for so many reasons, most of which I can’t tell you without spoiling the whole plot. Make sure you go check out the reblog book club on tumblr for new suggestions. I hope I did a good job reviewing. I’m always look for suggestions for blog posts so be sure to comment if you have any ideas.

tumblr_msvx4wuvwE1r7zoxbo1_1280

Leave a Reply

